2012 TEXPAC General Election Endorsements

Contested Races Only

Early voting begins Oct. 22 and the Nov. 6 general election date is right around the corner!

Be sure to use this endorsement guide, created just for TEXPAC members, as you head to the polls. Certainly, we understand that individuals will disagree from time to time with TEXPAC decisions, but we are confident in our board-approved slate of candidates. Be sure to download and print off our Voter's Guide.  

Statewide Offices

U.S. Senate

Ted Cruz (R)

Texas Supreme Court, Place 2
Don Willett (R)

Texas Supreme Court, Place 3
Nathan Hecht (R)

Texas Congressional Delegation


CD 1

Louie Gohmert (R-Tyler)

CD 2

Ted Poe (R-Humble)

CD 4

Ralph Hall (R-Rockwall)

CD 5

Jeb Hensarling (R-Dallas)

CD 6

Joe Barton (R-Ennis)

CD 7

John Culberson (R-Houston)

CD 8

Kevin Brady (R-The Woodlands)

CD 9

Al Green (D-Houston)

CD 10

Michael McCaul (R-Austin)

CD 11

Mike Conaway (R-Midland)

CD 12

Kay Granger (R-Fort Worth)

CD 14

Randy Weber  (R-Pearland)

CD 15

Ruben Hinojosa (D-Mercedes)

CD 16

Beto O'Rourke (D-El Paso)

CD 18

Sheila Jackson Lee (D-Houston)

CD 20

Joaquin Castro (D-San Antonio)

CD 21

Lamar Smith (R-San Antonio)

CD 22

Pete Olson (R-Sugar Land)

CD 23

Francisco "Quico" Canseco (R-San Antonio)

CD 24

Kenny Marchant (R-Coppell)

CD 25

Roger Williams (R-Weatherford)

CD 26

Michael Burgess, MD (R-Flower Mound)

CD 27

Blake Farenthold (R-Corpus Christi)

CD 28

Henry Cuellar (D-Laredo)

CD 30

Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-Dallas )

CD 31

John Carter (R-Round Rock)

CD 32

Pete Sessions (R-Dallas)

CD 33

Marc Veasey (D-Fort Worth)

CD 34

Filemon Vela (D-Brownsville)

CD 35

Lloyd Doggett (D-Austin)


Texas Senate


SD 1

Kevin Eltife (R-Tyler)

SD 6

Mario Gallegos, Jr. (D-Houston)

SD 7

Dan Patrick (R-Houston)

SD 8

Ken Paxton (R-McKinney)

SD 10

Mark Shelton, MD (R-Fort Worth)

SD 11

Larry Taylor (R-Friendswood)

SD 15

John Whitmire (D-Houston)

SD 19

Carlos Uresti (D-San Antonio)

SD 20

Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa (D-Edinburg)

SD 21

Judith Zaffirini (D-Laredo)

SD 23

Royce West (D-Duncanville)

SD 25

Donna Campbell, MD (R-New Braunfels)

SD 29

Jose Rodriguez (D-El Paso)


Texas House of Representatives


HD 8

Byron Cook (R-Corsicana)

HD 12

Kyle Kacal (R-Bryan)

HD 14

John Raney (R-Bryan)

HD 17

Tim Kleinschmidt (R-Lexington)

HD 23

Craig Eiland (D-Galveston)

HD 24

Greg Bonnen, MD (R-Friendswood)

HD 26

Rick Miller (R-Sugar Land)

HD 27

Ron Reynolds (D-Missouri City)

HD 29

Ed Thompson (R-Pearland)

HD 30

Geanie Morrison (R-Victoria)

HD 31

Ryan Guillen (D-Rio Grande City)

HD 34

Connie Scott (R-Corpus Christi)

HD 39

Mando Martinez (D-Weslaco)

HD 41

Bobby Guerra (D-Edinburg)

HD 43

J.M. Lozano (R-Falfurrias)

HD 45

Jason Isaac (R-Dripping Springs)

HD 47

Paul Workman (R-Austin)

HD 48

Donna Howard (D-Austin)

HD 54

Jimmie Don Aycock (R-Killeen)

HD 59

J.D. Sheffield, DO (R-Gatesville)

HD 62

Larry Phillips (R-Sherman)

HD 64

Myra Crownover (R-Denton)

HD 65

Ron Simmons (R-Lewisville)

HD 74

Pancho Nevarez (D-Eagle Pass)

HD 78

Dee Margo (R-El Paso)

HD 87

Four Price (R-Amarillo)

HD 99

Charlie Geren (R-Fort Worth)

HD 102

Stefani Carter (R-Lewisville)

HD 105

Linda Harper Brown (R-Irving)

HD 107

Kenneth Sheets (R-Dallas)

HD 114

Jason Villalba (R-Dallas)

HD 115

Bennett Ratliff (R-Coppell)

HD 118

Joe Farias (D-San Antonio)

HD 119

Roland Gutierrez (D-San Antonio)

HD 125

Justin Rodriguez (D-San Antonio)

HD 127

Dan Huberty (R-Houston)

HD 134

Sarah Davis (R-Houston)

HD 136

Tony Dale (R-Cedar Park)

HD 137

Gene Wu (D-Houston)

HD 139

Sylvester Turner (D-Houston)

HD 141

Senfronia Thompson (D-Houston)

HD 143

Ana Hernandez Luna (D-Houston)

HD 144

Mary Ann Perez (D-Pasadena)

HD 149

Herbert Vo (D-Houston)

HD 150

Debbie Riddle (R-Tomball)

Judicial Offices

1st Court of Appeals – Houston
Jane Bland (R), Harvey Brown (R), Rebecca Huddle (R), Terry Jennings (R), and Michael Massengale (R)

3rd Court of Appeals – Austin
Diane Henson (D), Robert Pemberton (R), David Puryear (R), and Jeff Rose (R)

4th Court of Appeals – San Antonio
Karen Angelini (R), Marialyn Barnard (R), Steve Hilbig (R), Rebecca Simmons (R), and Phylis J. Speedlin (R)

5th Court of Appeals - Dallas
Robert Fillmore (R), Douglas Lang (R), and James Moseley (R)

6th Court of Appeals – Texarkana
Bailey Moseley (R)

8th Court of Appeals – El Paso
Christopher Antcliff (R)

13th Court of Appeals – Corpus Christi and Edinburg
Tom Greenwell (R), Gina M. Benavides (D), Nelda Vidaurri Rodriguez (D)

14th Court of Appeals – Houston
John Donovan (R), Jeffrey Brown (R), Brett Busby (R), Martha Hill Jamison (R)